Welcome

Welcome to the SAIS Library's guide to e-book collections available to JHU users.
For more detailed information on e-books, including technical information on e-readers, see the Sheridan Library's e-book guide.
Q&As about e-books
Selected answers (links open in new window):
- What are the policies for EBSCOHost's e-book collection?
- How can I find online books?
- What is EBL and how can I use it?
Search Catalyst
One way to find e-books is to search Catalyst, the JHU Libraries catalog. Look for (and check) the box that says Search only items available online.
E-Book Collections at JHU
Q. Why search a separate database for an e-book?
A. While many (but not all) digitized books are findable via the JHU catalog, most e-book collections offer the advantage of searching the full text. Some major collections of e-books available to the JHU community are:
- EBLA collection of e-books published 2009 and later, downloadable to your computer or e-reader for fixed loan periods. All titles are included in the JHU catalog. NOTE: EBL works best with the Firefox browser.
- Ebooks and Audiobooks on EBSCOHostSet up your own EBSCOHost account to download e-books.
- Google BooksSearch full text of millions of digitized books. Some are viewable only in snippets; others can be downloaded as PDFs.
- Hathi Trust Digital LibraryA repository of digital content from research libraries. Millions of volumes are fully searchable.
- IMF e-Library
- OECD iLibrary
- Oxford Scholarship OnlineOver 4,000 Oxford University Press books, covering multiple disciplines.
- Safari Books Online12,400 technology, digital media and business books and videos online.
- World Bank e-Library
Chinese Language E-books
- ChinaMaxx Digital Library
- DuxiuThe Chinese language equivalent of Google Books, providing full-text search of over 2 million scholarly resources (mostly books but also journal articles, newspapers, theses etc.) in all subjects. Most books offer 20 pages of preview. A user wanting to read the full content can request 50 pages at a time (or 1/5 of the book content, whichever is smaller). The requested content will be delivered to the user’s email instantly. Due to copyright restrictions, there is a limit of one request from the same book per user per week.
More E-Book Collections
- ACLS Humanities e-Books
- Legal Classics (Hein Online)1,800 works from some of the greatest legal minds in history
- Making of the Modern World: The Goldsmiths'-Kress Library of Economic Literature 1450-1850
- Springer Books
Ask a SAIS Librarian |
Who we are:: left to right: Linda Carlson, Kate Picard, Steve Sears, Jenny Kusmik, Sheila Thalhimer |



Loading...
